Happy Anniversary to my husband!

I love you.

I always said I would marry you all over again. So, today, on our fifteenth wedding anniversary, I am renewing my vows to you.
(No family getting lost or the power going out in a bridesmaid’s house so she almost missed the ceremony.   No waitress spilling a tray of drinks down your tuxedo!)

But I’m keeping the ceremony and vows, because they’re so beautiful and wise.

No minister, no rabbi, no public official can marry you. Only you can marry yourselves. By a mutual commitment to love each other, work toward creating an atmosphere of caring, consideration and respect, by a willingness to face the tensions and anxieties that underlie human life, you can make your wedded life come alive.

From this day forward, you must come closer together than ever before; you must love one another in sickness and in health, for better or for worse, but at the same time, your love should give you the strength to stand apart, to seek out your unique destinies, to make your special contribution to the world, which is always a part of us. You stand here as two people who wish to express your emotions within the framework of a meaningful life. You bring that particular personality and spirit which is uniquely your own, and out of which will grow the reality of your life together.

You will find no set of rules is better than a common sense approach to what is naturally right and wrong in your consideration of each other. Remember also the importance of keeping a sense of humor because it will keep many situations as unimportant as they should be in your marriage. Understand each other’s faults and always consider your responsibilities to each other as partners in a long and beautiful life together.

John, I want to live with you just as you are. I choose you above all others and that is the only evidence there can be that I love you. I take you as my husband. I pledge to share my life openly with you, to love and respect you when we are together and apart, when life is peaceful and when it is in disorder. I will honor your goals and dreams and help you to fulfill them, and encourage your own fulfillment as an individual through all of the changes in our lives.

Happy Anniversary.

Leave a Reply

