It’s anti-bigotry, not political correctness.

My husband ragged me recently about being politically correct because I included good wishes for everyone celebrating a holiday during the last few mpnths. I get this comment a lot, so I thought I’d explain. It’s part of my resolutions, after all. 😉

I’m not committing what seems to be a horrible phrase to people: political correctness. I’m treating someone the way I want to be treated: with respect.

This country was founded on religious freedom. Its values did not favor any religion or philosophy; the majority of Founding Fathers did not belong to a religion like Christianity and they put in numerous writings why it was so important to them that they searched for the best values in all religions and philosophies. When they threw out the British Empire, they also threw out a Religious Empire with it. Only one religion was legal back then; all others were punished with at least a fine and at most prison and time in the stocks. Even the Puritans/Pilgrims who came here for “religious freedom” meant freedom for them and no one else. (Read about the SECOND Thanksgiving where they prayed for God to kill all the “heathens”/Indians so they could have all the land for themselves.)

So the country’s creators sought for everyone to have the right to believe what they did. No church was favored, no one’s values put above others. Whenever a church group like the Lutherans, the Baptists, or the Episcopalians sought to create an empire again, Franklin, Jefferson, Washington, Adams, Madison and the others fought for equal rights. After all, the first nation to support the colonies for freedom was Muslim. Washington and Franklin both attended services with the Native Americans and praised their religious, non-Christian practices. Benjamin Franklin even had a favorite story about a Christian minister and an Indian group to show why he did not allow only Christian values and only their God to be favored, even with all his respect for Jesus and his teachings.

When the Pledge of Allegiance was written, it contained nothing about “under God” even though its creator was a devout Christian. He believed in the equality that the Founding Fathers believed in, and like Franklin, said Christians better served God by doing actions that brought about “liberty and justice for all” than pushing words that led to prejudiced actions.

And so we remained for almost 2 centuries. Then came the 50s, Joseph McCarthy, and the Red Scare. And out went equality.

Equality, everyone was told, equaled the Red Menace. Only Christians were decent and if people thought other religions should have rights, they were blacklisted. Using these terroristic actions, those seeking a restored Christian Empire at last got their way. The Christian God was put into the Pledge of Allegiance and on the money; if a Senator didn’t vote for it to happen…. well, who doesn’t know what McCarthy did to the poor people he slapped with the Communist label?

So Christians got a national holiday for their religion, and they’re the only ones allowed to have that. They’re also the only ones to have their faith put into our countries Pledge and currency. They’re the only ones allowed to have billions spent for their entertainment (name 10 major motion pictures about Buddhism. Now name me 10 about Christmas.) or have their holiday celebrated in music on radio stations for days in a row.  And so the bigotry spread.

And then a few people asked, don’t I have equal rights too? If that’s true, instead of having only Merry Christmas in the public places (that non-Christian dollars pay for too), how about we celebrate all the holidays?  Not just mine, but everyone’s.
Notice they didn’t say “We don’t want Christmas mentioned anymore.” They just said, can we celebrate everyone?  Can we wish everyone a happy holiday, whatever that holiday may be?

Christmas is still the only national, religious holiday. It is still the only one with billions of dollars industry in entertainment. It is still the only one that has numerous radio stations playing its music constantly for periods of 30 days or more.  The White House does broadcasts about it and no other religious holiday.

In a land supposedly free, that’s a lot of bigotry.

I’ve asked every Christian I know: would it be okay if I assume you’re Muslim and just say “Have a good Ramadan” when I see you around the holidays? Everyone of them screamed about how bigoted that was.

I asked if it was okay if we took out God in the Pledge of Allegiance and put in Buddha? They freaked.

Would it be okay for a Muslim to do their daily prayers in schools? What about Jews? NO! they screamed.

But it’s okay if it all goes their way.

Especially considering: Jesus was a Jew. He established a Jewish church through St. Peter. Jesus, his mother, his apostles, and his followers for centuries celebrated Hanukkah. Not Christmas. Not even under St. Paul.

It makes no sense to me as an American not to give other people the rights that I have. And it makes no sense to me to yell at other people that their holiday isn’t as good as mine. Especially when I’m yelling at some of the people that would include Jesus himself.

So I treat them like I’d to be treated: with respect. If it was good enough for Ben Franklin and his cronies, and good enough for Jesus, well…. why not me.

After all, I still get a boatload of prejudice in my favor. It’s just giving .0000000001% equality. I still get the day off; the radio still sings CHRISTMAS! once every couple seconds at least… including the stores and every public area where a Happy Holidays banner may fly. I still get Hollywood making movies for me and not the other guys. No one has called Joseph McCarthy the ahole that he was by undoing the bigotry he committed by shoving his God down everyone’s throats.

It’s kind of like having a pile of presents and not allowing someone else with nothing to  have a piece of fruitcake.

So I don’t see wishing all holidays a good time as big thing to give. I can certainly spare that little bit of bigotry. I’d even be willing to go for more.

6 responses to “It’s anti-bigotry, not political correctness.

  1. Forgive me for saying so, but this country was not founded on anything close to religious freedom. The Puritans ventured here because 1, they were kicked out of every other decent area, and 2, they were tired of being the persecutees, and wanted to be the persecutors. We only have to look one state west, Pennsylvania, and look to this history of religious intolerance there. Not a Quaker? They might have let you live there, but by God (pun intended) you cannot have a say in government or any other matters of importance. And this practice continued on into Ben Franklin’s era.

    I applaud your Happy Holidaying, but at the same time, looking to the Founders, or honestly, any era of American history for religious freedom and tolerance is a doomed exercise from the start.

  2. “the majority of Founding Fathers did not belong to a religion like Christianity and they put in numerous writings why it was so important to them that they searched for the best values in all religions and philosophies.”

    While you made some good points, its sad that you made such a careless statement. That statement is simply false.

  3. “They’re the only ones allowed to have billions spent for their entertainment (name 10 major motion pictures about Buddhism. Now name me 10 about Christmas.)”

    Are you honestly complaining about the entertainment industry? Think about it, only 10% of the USA’s population has a non-Christian population; This is largely the result of immigrants coming from Europe and South America. Therefore, by all acounts…. the USA is largely a jedo-christian people (notice I said people… not government). Therefore, if you want to sell a product that has mass appeal, you want a product that they will want. The entertainment industry picks Christian themes because it sells… not because they are bigots.

    The entire notion that a PRIVATE entity should take financial lost… on the basis of being “sensible” to all religions…. is political correctness on drugs.

    You seem to not understand what “Render unto Ceaser the things which are Ceaser, and unto God the things that are God” means. That statement is the basis of seperation of Church and State (and yes… Jesus was the one who said it… bit ironic isn’t it?).

  4. “My husband ragged me recently about being politically correct because I included good wishes for everyone celebrating a holiday during the last few mpnths.”

    Wait a second, you actually remember all the world’s religious holidays and wish people a good [insert one of the 17 MAIN ones… and lets not even get into secs]

    Seriously, if you came up to me… first I probably going to be very confused what you’re talking about (unless its Christian, Muslim, Jewish, or Buddist)…. and then I am going to thank you lost your way to the crazy house.

    Trust me… most people don’t care. They just want to live the festive holidays and get on with their life. I know so many people who don’t go to church, pray in God, and yet they celebrate Christmas (I am one of them). Most people want a break from work, some fruitcake, and time with their family. They don’t want to be deciphering someone’s attempt at making political statements.

  5. “Forgive me for saying so, but this country was not founded on anything close to religious freedom. The Puritans ventured here because 1, they were kicked out of every other decent area, and 2, they were tired of being the persecutees, and wanted to be the persecutors. We only have to look one state west, Pennsylvania, and look to this history of religious intolerance there. Not a Quaker? They might have let you live there, but by God (pun intended) you cannot have a say in government or any other matters of importance. And this practice continued on into Ben Franklin’s era.”

    I expressly mentioned the Puritans being persecutors and I said how this country has always had a group of people not giving another group equal rights, always promoting their own religion to be the only acceptable religion. And people have always fought against it.

    However! That does not mean Franklin, Jefferson, Adams, and the others did not set religious freedom as a cornerstone of this country. They fought and won the battle to not have a national religion, unlike other countries, making us the first country to separate government and religion. They threw out the law that said you must be Church of England or suffer penalties. Franklin built the first Jewish temple in the nation, even though he was not Jewish himself. Despite pressure from others, the Declaration of Independence or the Constitution makes no references to Christianity. In the 1790 US treaty with Tripoli, it expressly states that “As the government of the United States is not, in any sense, founded on the Christian religion; as it has in itself no character of enmity against the laws, religion or tranquillity [sic] of Musselmen . . . it is declared . . . that no pretext arising from religious opinion shall ever produce an interruption of the harmony existing between the two countries.”

    They removed British laws stating a government official must be of a certain religion, and made the oath of the Presidency entirely secular.

    If I thought we had true religious freedom in this country, I wouldn’t have to make the posting at all. From the beginning, this country has not given equality to everyone for a lot of reasons; when they were signed the Constitution, we still had slavery. That doesn’t mean they never wrote the words “All men are created equal”. The sad fact that some people don’t believe it or act on it doesn’t erase the fact that it was done.

  6. >>“the majority of Founding Fathers did not belong to a religion like Christianity
    >its sad that you made such a careless statement. That statement is simply false.

    It wasn’t careless or false. I don’t make unresearched statements when it comes to something like this. The majority of those men were Unitarians or Deists. They believed a god existed, but left Christianity because they did not believe in the Trinity or the Divinity of Christ. Before the Empire was removed, they, like everyone else, was forced in the Episcopal faith or suffer the penalties such as having their businesses and homes taken from them. Afterwards, Franklin gave to a wide variety of churches and established the first Jewish temple. Washington was told that as President, he must be seen as a church man, but he would never be there on days for communion. And under his Presidency and Adams, the treaty I mentioned above about not being a Christian nation, but a secular and accepting multiples religions such as Muslim was written and ratified.

    As for them searching through numerous sources of religions and philosophies. Franklin went as far back as Socrates, saying the man’s philosophies and styles influenced him greatly. Others pointed out Plato. Franklin and Jefferson said they thought Jesus was a wonderful philospher and teacher; others had nothing to do with them. Adams wrote about the Muslims. Franklin and Washington cited the Indians as well as Muslims. They had a very long list, and if you read their papers as I have, you’ll see it for yourself.

    >Are you honestly complaining about the entertainment industry?

    I cited the fact that people who do not want anything but Christmas talked about are now trying to say that nobody’s allowed to mention Christmas anymore. It’s obviously a lie with all the movies, TV specials, and radio stations saying Christmas constantly.

    >The entire notion that a PRIVATE entity should take financial lost… on the basis of being “sensible” to all religions….
    >is political correctness on drugs.

    You’re making an assumption: that I stated they shouldn’t make Christmas movies. I never said that. But since you want to talk about money, if they continue to make Christmas movies AND movies about other non-Christian holidays, it’s a GAIN, not a loss. Because now the untapped audience is spending their money too.

    >Jesus was the one who said it… bit ironic isn’t it?

    Jesus also said “Love one another”, and “Do unto others as you would have done to you” and “Judge not lest ye be judged”. But by my doing unto others, you say it’s my “attempt at making political statements”. Ironic, isn’t it? Respect, love, and equality are thrown out as political statements and “I am going to thank you lost your way to the crazy house”.

    >Seriously, if you came up to me… first I probably going to be very confused what you’re talking about (unless its
    >Christian, Muslim, Jewish, or Buddist)…. and then I am going to thank you lost your way to the crazy house.

    I’m sorry that me saying “Have a good holiday” confuses you. I’m kind of surprised it did. I said it to a Japanese man a couple of days ago and he understood me completely, even though English was his second language.

    By the way, “I am going to thank you lost your way to the crazy house” is an incomplete, jumbled statement. But I wasn’t confused. I could understand what it meant. Maybe you should come into the crazy house, because as someone who apparently lives there, I did better with your unclear, garbled sentence than you did with “Happy holidays”.

    >Trust me… most people don’t care. They just want to live the festive holidays and get on with their life. I know so many >people who don’t go to church, pray in God, and yet they celebrate Christmas (I am one of them). Most people want a break >from work, some fruitcake, and time with their family. They don’t want to be deciphering someone’s attempt at making
    >political statements.

    First off, I still feel sad for anyone who tosses away the concept of respecting someone else as a political statement. That’s a very cold, selfish world where bigotry is okay, especially because it means a day off and a lot of money in someone’s pockets..

    Second, most people I know DON’T want fruitcake. 😉

    But trust me, most people DO care about having respect. The only ones who don’t are the ones who are getting their way.

    I won’t make a blanket statement; some people don’t care and that’s really sad. Having family members who are Muslim and Buddhist, people not caring about the prejudice and discrimination they face says a lot about the hearts in those people. But it’s true; the only way they will care is when it’s them being insulted, threatened, and thrown out. Since it rarely happens to those kind of people, they’ll be cold and selfish their whole lives.

    But that’s not most people; it’s just the ones who push themselves to the front. And even if they’re the majority, I will not be prejudiced so that I can be a part of them.

    I still don’t think me saying “Have a good holiday” is a big deal. I still get my day off, I still spend time with my family, I even spend time with friends, and I still give my money to all the private industries. I even give my money to the private industries who say something besides Christmas. And so far, you’re the only one who’s been confused by those four words.

Leave a Reply

