Rainbow Bridge

If you don’t know what this is, it’s a poem for people who are mourning a very loved pet. Here it is:

There is a bridge connecting Heaven and Earth. It is called the Rainbow Bridge because of its many colors. Just this side of the Rainbow Bridge, there is a land of meadows, hills and valleys with lush green grass.

When a beloved pet dies, the pet goes to this place. There is always food and water, and warm spring weather. The old and frail animals are young again. Those who have been maimed are made whole again. They play all day with each other.

But there is only one thing missing. They are not with their special person who loved them on Earth. So each day they run and play until the day comes when one suddenly stops playing and looks up. The nose twitches! The ears are up! The eyes are staring! And this one suddenly runs from the group!

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. Your face is kissed again and again and again, and you look once more into the eyes of your trusting pet.

Then you cross the Rainbow Bridge together, never again to be separated.

My friend Kim D (Lady Gypsy.net) first told me about the poem when my kitty Target passed away.  I’ve seen different art prints for it, but the best I ever saw was at a crafts and art show in Cape May.  It was a beautiful, the best I’ve seen to capture the feeling in the poem.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get it then or the name of the artist, and I never found it again.

Until yesterday when we went to the Collingswood Crafts and Fine Arts festival.  Suddenly, there was the artist, with the original painting and the print:

Rainbow Bridge by Bill Bell

Rainbow Bridge by Bill Bell

I am so happy that I finally have this.  You can see more by the artist, Bill Bell, and get one for yourself if you like.

I have to say that I’m glad there’s people in the print who have more than one pet waiting for them on the bridge.  I began to think they’d be suspicious of me, like I’m some kind of jinx for pets.

As for the idea that some have that animals don’t go to any form of “Heaven”, I have only this to say:

If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” – Will Rogers


We had a good day yesterday. It was a rainy, stormy day so it was a very cozy day. We went to the craft show before the storm hit and had a good time walking around. We had lunch at the Tortilla Press when the storm started, finished the fair, and drove to a book store. We sat together with cups of coffee and books, sitting cozy together, watching the rain and reading.  Then we headed home for more of being cozy, cuddled up with dogs and each other, Chinese food, and movies.

A soothing day.  Just what I needed.

One response to “Rainbow Bridge

  1. So glad you found the Rainbow Bridge picture you’ve sought for so long, and got to meet the artist too. It’s a great image and I must say,….I’m with Will!!

Leave a Reply

