Why Microsoft Vista sucks a monkey’s butt!

And why the monkey isn’t happy about it!

Sorry if the language offends you, but Mother Teresa would curse Vista if she ever had to use it.

If you’ve never used Vista, offer a sacrifice to the computer gods in thanks immediately or you’ll be screwed too.   The short summary is this:

Pros:

Vista is pretty.

Cons:

Everything else about it.

Longer list, but not complete list because I’ve wasted enough time on the   thing.

Pros:

It’s still pretty.

Cons:

  • It’s SLOW.  On Saturday morning, I logged in to the laptop. The Welcome screen showed up, but I promised to get coffee, so off I went.  45 minutes later, I came home.  The Welcome screen was still up.  Vista hadn’t started up.  When that screen is doing that, you have to CRTL-ALT-DEL to get it to really start.  Even under normal circumstances, it’s much slower to start and do other tasks.
  • That’s ferkockin’ Popup that asks if you really want to do something.  This is supposed to stop hackers.  What it really does is stop you from doing anything easily.  Here’s a common example:  You want to change the time on your clock.  First: You click on the clock. Second: Click on CHANGE time and settings.  WHY?  Why not have that right away like before?  Third click:  I’m serious, you must click on another button/link that says Change the time or date!  TWO TIMES you have to say you want to change it!!  Fourth: Vista asks if you really wanted to do this.  Fifth: Change the time.  Sixth: Click ok.  SIX CLICKS!!! It used to be you clicked on the clock, changed it, hit ok.  This happens throughout Vista when you go to do something.
  • It prevents the most basic tasks.  I tried copying a file from one folder to another.  It kept giving me this message that DEP (a protection thing) stopped it from doing so in case it threatened the security of my computer!  AND YOU CAN’T TURN THAT OFF!  Not for a Windows program like that one. I tried viewing a picture and it did the same thing.  It took me 15 minutes to find a way to get around that.
  • Try updating something, go ahead. It will take longer.  I tried getting ActiveSync for Vista.  It didn’t like that I have an older PDA and refuses to let me sync my Contacts, Tasks, and Notes until I buy a newer Windows Mobile Device.   Just to get the software took me 5 pages on their site, a confirmation that I was on VIsta that included me installing a plugin even though I gave in and used IE to download the software, 5 more clicks saying I was trusting the content and letting the program install (even though it was also made by Microsoft), and the damn thing froze up.  But Vista doesn’t see when Microsoft programs freeze; it only likes to point out when a competitor freezes.  It tried to let me continue running it, even though it was frozen for an hour.
  • Even though your login is an administrator’s, Vista will say it’s not and won’t let you do things like copy photos to your Photos directory because you don’t have administrator privledges. Even though it’s your photos and your Photos directory.

And this is supposed to be the IMPROVED Windows!  But even Microsoft admits it has no more security that XP with Security Pack 2 installed.  I could go on, but I don’t need to because the number one reason how you can tell Vista sucks:

Microsoft has bailed on it! That Mac commercial showing them spending money on Vista advertising but not fixing it is true.  Notice by the way, that those commercials “I’m a PC” never say “I’m a happy Vista user”.  The whole campaign is as much a farce as Bill Gates’ glasses: just a PR slant to cover up the seedy underbelly.  The PC ads cover up that Microsoft itself says Vista is hopeless; it is starting its designs for a new OS.

By the way, while writing this, Vista froze on the post twice.  I got a grin over the whole “Big Brother” irony of it.  But conspiracy theory or not, it’s just another bad day in Vista land.

Leave a Reply

