Heroes: 1 Pirates: 0

I saw the children’s show yesterday.  John came with me, and Becky, Adam, and Sophia met us there.  I got a great surprise when I see Tootie (Kim S.) and Kyle there too!  I was excited but nervous, naturally.  Would I think the writing held up when it was the first one I wrote?  Would I like what they did and more importantly, would the audience like it?

Unfortunately, good weather had worked against the show, making the audience sizes very small.  But they had at least half a house yesterday.  And a real tribute to the show: some people had come back to see it again!

Overall, it was a great show!  They had some excellent performers, the kids actually didn’t squirm and paid attention (that is HUGE) with one boy actually quoting from the show at each blackout! And as more than one parent said to me, they were thrilled and surprised that there was laughs and moments for the adults which they loved!  That’s a lesson I’ve learned as an adult who goes to “kid movies” and watches “kid shows”.  The lesson is this:

You’re dead if you aim only for kids. Adults are only kids grown up, anyway. — Walt Disney

So I’m glad that worked.  Let’s face it: having the audience AND cast tell me how good they thought it was is such a high!  I’ll be riding this one for awhile!

I grabbed some photos and a video during the show:

Fabler, Princess Noble, and Mocking: kids fell in love with the princess right away, and adults loved Mockings humor

Fabler, Princess Noble, and Mocking: kids fell in love with the princess right away, and adults loved Mocking's humor

Fabler talks to Bob about the Prophesy he will fulfill. In a land where people are named after their strong characteristics, like Elegant and Noble, a hero named Bob is odd. More worrisome: hes a sailor who was kicked off his ship because he kept getting seasick.  How can this be the Hero of the Prophesy?

Fabler talks to Bob about the Prophesy he will fulfill. In a land where people are named after their strong characteristics, like Elegant and Noble, a hero named Bob is odd. More worrisome: he's a sailor who was kicked off his ship because he kept getting seasick. How can this be the Hero of the Prophesy?

The fearsome pirates - King Corrupt, Shady, and Shifty - plot against the Heroes, including letting loose the terrifying, 5 stories tall Hound!

The fearsome pirates - King Corrupt, Shady, and Shifty - plot against the Heroes, including letting loose the terrifying, 5 stories tall Hound!

Mocking is captured!  But faces the pirates bravely!

Mocking is captured! But faces the pirates bravely!

The heroes hear of Mockings capture and the upcoming attack on the kingdom!

The heroes hear of Mocking's capture and the upcoming attack on the kingdom!

Sneaking into the pirates den!

Sneaking into the pirates den!

The pirates rally! Even with their fearsome Hound reduced to a tiny dog by the Fairy Godmother!

The pirates rally! Even with their fearsome Hound reduced to a tiny dog by the Fairy Godmother!

The Princess is captured and taunted by Pirate King Corrupt!

The Princess is captured and taunted by Pirate King Corrupt!

It’s time to fight back!

Battle for the Kingdom!

PS: I did NOT write the son-of-a-bee line. 😉

These guys were so sweet to me:

Mike on the left told me he fell in love with the script, and James on the right told me how much he enjoyed playing this part.  You should have seen them perk up when I said there was a prequel.

I made this t-shirt for Sophia.  She was in NYC this weekend, and after seeing a Broadway show, told the bellman that she was now seeing another show that HER Auntie Erin wrote!  Becky said you could tell the bellman thought the play was playing off Broadway… which it was: off off OFF Broadway!  But that’s the reason for the “Written by her Auntie Erin” line on the T-shirt.

So this was a fun experience.  I’m relieved  and thrilled that the audience and cast had such a good time!

One response to “Heroes: 1 Pirates: 0

  1. My wife did good!! I forgot how much fun that play was. I am proud of you. And Karl and Jon did a great job directing and all the actors were having fun. That’s important in a “kids” show. It was a good afternoon.

Leave a Reply

