It’s another week of bad times.

If your spirit can’t take a lot of bad news, I don’t blame you and I recommend going to read something cheery.

On top of things we’re worried about at home and my sister’s Cathi’s car accident, within 12 hours, we had 2 terrible pieces of news.

John’s close friends lost their mom.  She had been like a Mom to John too and that makes the 4th that he’s lost.  She died Wed night, a half hour after they called John to say she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and only had a few days.

The very next morning, a good friend’s aunt rushed into the hospital with chest pains and trouble breathing.  They found an extensive mass on her lung and they think it’s lung cancer.  They also worry about their older aunt as she crumbles watching her baby sister, the last of her siblings, fall under this.

In the past couple weeks, one friend suddenly lost his wife and another saw his sister pass away.  The month before: my friends James and Joe lost their moms.

It’s something we don’t think about growing up and we hear our parents talk about their friends’ parents fading away.  But the generation that had the Boomers are in their 70s, 80s, and 90s.  Many people I know are Baby Boomers and even though James and I are late in life kids, our own parents were the ones to grow up in the Depression and WWII.  And the Boomers themselves are in their 50s and 60s…. with all that comes with that.  Including my family.

It doesn’t make it any less heartbreaking.  It’s horrible.  But the scary fact hit me this week… I’m living what I remember my Mom going through with her friends and their parents.  Now I understand while the generations younger than me are the ones who now don’t feel it yet.  I hope they don’t for a very long time.

We all need something cheery after that.  How about this?

In the middle of the most poignant scene in our play, my cell phone rang.  And now just any ring, but this:

As I ran off the stage, fumbling to shut it off, one of the other women grinned and said, “Muppet Babies! Awesome.”

Leave a Reply

